Jose Mauro De Vasconcelos Biography, Brazilian Author’s Life and Works


Who was Jose Mauro de Vasconcelos? Biography of the famous Brazilian writer and a list of his works.

José Mauro de Vasconcelos

José Mauro de Vasconcelos

José Mauro de Vasconcelos was a Brazilian writer, journalist, and teacher. He was born on August 23, 1920, in the city of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. He grew up in a poor family in the suburbs of Rio de Janeiro, and his childhood experiences would later inspire his writing.

Vasconcelos began his career as a journalist, working for several newspapers and magazines in Brazil. In the 1950s, he began writing fiction, publishing several short stories and novellas. In 1968, he published his most famous work, the novel “Meu Pé de Laranja Lima”, which would become a classic of Brazilian literature. The novel tells the story of a young boy growing up in poverty in the suburbs of Rio de Janeiro and his friendship with a girl from a wealthy family.

Vasconcelos’ work is often characterized by its powerful storytelling and evocative portrayal of childhood and adolescence. He also wrote other books, such as “O Visconde que Veio do Mar” and “O Menino Maluquinho”.

Throughout his career, Vasconcelos also worked as a teacher, teaching creative writing and literature at several institutions in Brazil. He died on March 12, 1984, in Rio de Janeiro.


Vasconcelos’ work has been widely praised and has had a significant impact on Brazilian literature and culture. José Mauro de Vasconcelos is considered a prominent figure in Brazilian literature, known for his powerful storytelling and evocative portrayal of childhood and adolescence. “Meu Pé de Laranja Lima” is considered a classic of Brazilian literature and is widely studied in schools and universities. His other works continue to be read and admired by audiences in Brazil and around the world.

List of works by Jose Mauro De Vasconcelos

Here is a list of some of the works by Jose Mauro de Vasconcelos:

  1. My Sweet Orange Tree (1958)
  2. The Third Bank of the River (1963)
  3. The Head of the Saint (1969)
  4. O cortiço (1978)
  5. Pobre menino rico (1978)
  6. A cabeça do santo (1978)
  7. Os velhos marinheiros (1978)
  8. O quinze (1978)
  9. A terceira margem do rio (1978)
  10. O menino maluquinho (1978)

Note that this list may not be exhaustive and some books may be in Portuguese.

Leave A Reply